Gorillaz Return with New Album, Plastic Beach, March 9

Amy Laviero :: Wednesday, January 20th, 2010 4:00 pm

Five years after the release of their sophomore album, Demon Days, your favorite animated band is back. Gorillaz have announced a March 9 release date for their third studio album, Plastic Beach. The first single off the record, “Stylo,” features Bobby Womack and Mos Def, and will have its radio debut tonight. Fans can (legally) download the single beginning next Tuesday, January 26. Although, based on Murdock’s tweet only three hours ago, it seems as though “Russian pirates” have leaked the new single.

Their return will also be marked by the band’s first performance in the US since ‘06 at Cochella on Sunday, April 18.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

1. Orchestral Intro (featuring Sinfonia ViVA)
2. Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach (feat. Snoop Dogg & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. White Flag (feat. Kano, Bashy & The National Orchestra For Arabic Music)
4. Rhinestone Eyes
5. Stylo (feat. Bobby Womack & Mos Def)
6. Superfast Jellyfish (feat. Gruff Rhys & De La Soul)
7. Empire Ants (feat. Little Dragon)
8. Glitter Freeze (feat. Mark E Smith)
9. Some Kind Of Nature (feat. Lou Reed)
10. On Melancholy Hill
11. Broken
12. Sweepstakes (feat. Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. Plastic Beach (feat. Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. To Binge (feat. Little Dragon)
15. Cloud Of Unknowing (feat. Bobby Womack and Sinfonia ViVA)
16. Pirate Jet